Tinny London – Brand Review

I made this purchase from Trinny London almost two months ago and I really needed the extra time to form my opinion on the line. For most of the products, it was not love at first site. The philosophy of the brand is to have a “stack” of products that looks natural, is easy to apply with your fingers, and is perfect for travel so you can touch up throughout the day. And all of the products do fit that description, I just had a hard time fitting them into my routine and it took quite a few trial runs to get them to work for me.  I was having problems with the cream products because the last step of my skincare routine is usually an oil and they looked greasy on me. So I have found that I have to skip the oil and use a light moisturizer to make a whole Trinny London face. My feelings are all over the place on the brand – I love products, I hate products, some are worth the price and some definitely aren’t… but I have three more things in my cart soooooo *shrugs*.

The BFF Cream – This is supposed to be a shade adjusting, skin perfecting face cream with SPF 30. I like it as the SPF step in my routine because it’s very thin and hydrating and it does give a slight glow. But, I can’t layer this with most of my moisturizers because it will turn my face into an oil slick and it does not do anything in terms of coverage. So, while I do enjoy using this, I would not buy it again because it’s essentially a radiant SPF … for $50.00 (I would recommend the Heimish Artless Glow Base – a luminous SPF primer). This comes with an empty pot so you can carry some with you in your stack – mine currently has Kevin Aucoin’s The Sensual Skin Enhancer in it.

The Just a Touch – This was a total miss for me. It has a sheer/light coverage (TL says it can be build up to full, but I have not been able to do that) and an extremely short wear time. To be fair, TL is marketed as a brand for natural makeup that is easy to apply on-the-go and this product does check those boxes. It looks very natural on the skin, evens out my skin tone and will last a few hours if I set it with powder. Outside of running errands or a quick trip into town, I have no use for this.

The Golden Glow in Jensta and The Right Light in Starlight – These two were the high points of my purchase and I would totally buy them again. They are still a bit greasy and if I want to wear them on their own I do have to adjust my skincare, but they work well over satin/matte foundation. The bronzer is a FANTASTIC shade – it’s not red or orange or muddy at all. The Golden Glow truly does give you a sun kissed appearance. I am fair (N20) and I usually hate most bronzers because they just look wrong on me, but the Golden Glow adds a beautiful hint of tan to my face. The Right Light is a very subtle and natural, but it gives a truly lit-from-within appearance to the skin. I would recommend/repurchase these two products.

I’m currently eyeing some of Trinny London’s lip, cheek, and eye products because, while their base products aren’t for me, I like the bronzer and highlight enough to keep exploring the line!

Author: Liz

skincare and makeup lover perpetual learner and grower hobby farmer and mother

Leave a comment